Life Planning Information Website - Education Bureau

Secondary six graduates may pursue their studies overseas in such countries as Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada, and Switzerland and so on. Local and overseas institutions and colleges regularly hold exhibitions in Hong Kong for students to learn more about their studies, including the Education and Careers Expo organised by the Hong Kong Trade Development Council.

Applications for admission to overseas institutions in Hong Kong can be made through admission counsellors, institutions of higher education in various countries or institutions themselves. Students may enquire about the relevant courses, attend seminars or exhibitions for further information.

If students study in other overseas countries, such as the United Kingdom, Australia, New Zealand, the United States, Canada and so on, the requirements of different universities are different. Students may refer to the following basic information:

Overseas Region Application Requirements
United Kingdom
  • The Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination has been incorporated into the score matching system of the University and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS) of the United Kingdom. Its performance level is similar to that of the United Kingdom General Certificate of Education Advanced-level Examination (GCE A level). Please refer to the UCAS webpage for details of the UCAS score matching system.
  • Students must have a certain standard of English. For a bachelor's degree, students should generally obtain level 4 or above in English Language in the HKDSE, or a score of 6. 0 or above on the International English Test System (IELTS).
  • Students may also choose to enrol in International Diploma, Higher National Diploma, Foundation Degree or International Foundation Courses and then pursue top-up local university courses. Students are generally required to apply to individual institutions in advance.
United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand
  • The Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination has been recognized by a number of overseas universities.
  • Students must have a certain standard of English. For a bachelor's degree, students should generally obtain level 4 or above in English Language in the HKDSE, or a score of 6. 0 or above in the IELTS, or a score of 5. 5 or above in the TOEFL. Students can also enrol in foundation courses or other courses in university, and then pursue the top-up local university programme.
  • Students can enquire from individual institutions about the admission requirements of the relevant university programmes.

Application Method

There are three main channels through which applicants can enrol in overseas institutions of higher education: 
(1) Submit the application directly to the institutions through the Internet or by post; 
(2) Submit the application through a further education consultant or agency; or. 
(3) Submit the application directly to the institutions at the Education Promotion Exhibition. 

Students may prepare the application form, submit academic qualifications and other relevant documents to the institution for consideration.

Visa Application 

Applications for student visas can be made either through the following channels or with the assistance of further study counsellors:

Overseas area Related Webpage
United Kingdom
United States
Canada
Australia
New Zealand
Austria
Spain

Financial considerations

Students are advised to search the relevant institutions' courses on the Internet and discuss with their families whether they can afford their courses, including tuition fees and living expenses. Some countries and regions allow overseas students holding student visas to work part-time in their spare time, no more than a certain number of hours per week, then students can reduce part of the financial burden.

Psychological preparation / living adjustment

Overseas students can know the local weather, time difference, transportation, accommodation, medical treatment, local environment and culture in advance, make adequate preparation, and learn to integrate themselves into the new living environment.

General Information about Places of Study

Australia

Austria

Canada

New Zealand

Spain

United Kingdom

United States

Recognition of Non-local Qualifications

Recognition of non-local qualifications awarded by granting institutions outside Hong Kong for study, employment or registration in Hong Kong is at the discretion of the relevant education institutions, employers or organisations. The Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications (HKCAAVQ) offers the only Qualifications Assessment (QA) service in Hong Kong to assess non-local educational qualifications awarded by non-local granting bodies to individuals. The outcome of each assessment is a professional opinion on whether the non-local qualification meets the standard of a particular level of qualification in Hong Kong which the individual can use for employment or further study purposes. Starting from 8 January 2018, you can access our online application platform via the HKCAAVQ website’s quick link QA i-Portal. More details can be found here (link). Students who wish to further their study outside Hong Kong should take due account of the learning outcomes and quality of delivery of the educational programmes concerned which are key assessment criteria in the qualifications assessment conducted by HKCAAVQ.

General Information

Students intending to further their studies in Mainland China/ outside Hong Kong, please refer to general information about places of studyFAQs and Education Bureau Circular Memorandum No.51/2020 for information search prior to making decisions. For further information, please contact the designated consulting organisations.

Points to note when applying for a study programme outside Hong Kong

To conduct information search prior to making decisions on further education outside Hong Kong;

To be cautious when making applications, especially if the proceedings involve depositing a large down-payment as registration or tuition fees;

To consult respective Consulates or Commissions of the countries concerned and consulting organisations before making application for admission;

To find out whether you will be at liberty to move to another institution in the same country should you so wish, and in what circumstances any fees paid would be refundable; and

To note that the only organisations authorised to provide immigration facilities for entry to countries outside Hong Kong are the respective immigration services or Consulates in Hong Kong.

Back to Top

生涯規劃資訊網站 - 教育局

中六畢業生可選擇到海外地區繼續升學,如澳洲、新西蘭、英國、美國、加拿大、瑞士等。本地及海外機構及學院定期在香港舉行海外升學展覽,學生可了解更多當地升學詳情,當中包括香港貿易發展局舉辦的教育及職業博覽

在香港辦理海外升學手續可通過升學顧問、各國家的升學機構、或自行向院校申請報讀,學生可先行查詢相關課程、參加升學講座或展覽作進一步了解。

如學生在其他海外地區升學,如英國、澳洲、紐西蘭、美國、加拿大等地區,不同的大學要求各有不同,學生可參考以下基本資訊:

海外地區 申請資格
英國
  • 香港中學文憑試已納入英國大學及院校招生事務處(UCAS)的分數對照制度,成績水平與英國普通教育文憑高級程度考試(GCE A level)相若,有關UCAS分數對照制度詳情請參考UCAS網頁
  • 學生必須具備一定的英語水平,凡報讀學士學位,文憑試英國語文科一般須達第四級或以上,或在國際英語水平測試(IELTS)取得6.0分或以上。
  • 學生亦可選擇報讀國際文憑、高級國家文憑、基礎學位或國際基礎課程,然後銜接當地大學課程,學生一般須提早向個別院校申請。
美國、加拿大、澳洲及紐西蘭
  • 香港中學文憑試資歷已獲多間海外大學認可,學生可向個別院校查詢相關大學課程的入學要求。
  • 學生必須具備一定的英語水平,凡報讀學士學位,文憑試英國語文科一般須達第四級或以上,或在IELTS取得6.0分或以上,或TOEFL取得550分或以上。
  • 學生亦可報讀大學基礎課程或其他課程,然後銜接當地大學程。

申請方法

一般申請者可從三大途徑報讀海外高等院校: 
(一)經網上或郵寄方式直接向院校申請; 
(二)委託升學顧問公司化辦申請;或 
(三)在教育升學展覽直接向院校提供申請。 

學生可先行預備入學申請表、遞交學歷及其他相關文件給申請院校作評核之用。

簽證申請 

有關申請學生簽證,可從以下途徑或經由升學顧問協助辦理:

海外地區 相關網頁
英國
美國
加拿大
澳洲
紐西蘭
奧地利
西班牙

財政考慮

建議學生可先從網上搜尋相關院校的課程資訊,與家人商討財政能力是否能夠負擔,包括學費及生活費用。某些國家地區允許持有學生簽證的海外學生在課餘時間兼職,每星期均不可超過一定時數,學生則可減輕部分財政負擔。

心理準備/生活調整

留學生可預先了解當地天氣、時差、交通情況、住宿、醫療、以及當地環境和文化等,做好充足的心理準備,學會讓自己融入新的生活環境。

各國升學須知

澳洲

奧地利

加拿大

紐西蘭

西班牙

英國

美國

非本地學歷的認可

非本地的學歷頒授機構所頒發之學歷是否在香港獲承認或接納作入學、入職或註冊用途,由個別教育機構、僱主或組織決定。香港學術及職業資歷評審局是本港唯一提供學歷評估服務的法定機構,為持有由非本地的學歷頒授機構所頒授予個別人士的非本地學歷資歷提供專業評估服務。學歷評估結果只適用於個別申請人,評估其非本地學歷是否達到在香港取得的某特定資歷級別的標準,可作他們計劃就業或升學用途。由2018年1月8日開始,擬申請學歷評估人士,可透過評審局網頁內QA i-Portal快速鏈接,進入學歷評估服務平台。詳情請參閱此連結。有意前往香港境外地方升學的學生須仔細考慮有關課程的學習成效及教學質素,因它們是評審局進行學歷評估的主要評估準則。

一般資訊

學生擬前往中國內地或香港以外地方升學,在申請入學前,宜先蒐集詳盡資料,並參閱各國升學須知常見問題教育局通函第51/2020號。如需進一步資料,請聯絡相關諮詢機構

報讀非本地課程須知

擬前往外地升學,宜先蒐集詳盡資料。

辦理申請時,如要預繳高昂註冊費用,則需格外小心。

申請入讀前,可向有關國家的領事館或專員公署、諮詢機構查詢。

查證可否在當地自由轉讀另一所院校,以及在何種情況下可獲發還已繳付的學費。

只有有關國家的移民當局或駐港領事館,才能為學生辦理入境手續。

返回頁首