Skip to main content

Life Planning Information Website - Education Bureau

The Education System

Learning opportunities are available from coast to coast in Canada, with each of 10 provinces and 3 territories having its own system of elementary, secondary and post-secondary education.

(a) Universities

Canada has more than 100 public and private not-for-profit universities and university-degree granting institutions, giving students a vast choice of undergraduate and post-graduate programmes, as well as professional designations, certificate and diploma courses, and short career-focused programmes. 3 types of degrees are offered: 1) Undergraduate programmes which lead to a bachelor's degree after 3 or 4 years of study depending on province (an honor degree usually involves more concentration and additional credits); 2) Master's or Graduate degrees; 3) Doctoral or PhD programmes. Students can specialise by choosing from a huge range of programmes, from social science, biology, computer technology, nursing, media studies and agriculture. Students can also choose to apply to universities ranging in size from very large, research-intensive institutions to much smaller, primarily undergraduate focused campuses.

(b) The College System

There are over 135 colleges and polytechnics offering credentials that are sanctioned by provincial and territorial governments. Public colleges may also be known as institutes of technology, community colleges, polytechnics, college of applied arts and technology, and in Québec, colléges d'enseignement général et professionnel (cégeps). They offer a wide range of education programmes in a vast array of technical and professional fields, including business, agriculture and agri-food, health, social services, broadcasting and journalism, technology, sciences, information technology, engineering, environment, language, and arts. Programmes take from a few months to 4 years to complete including:

  • Certificates (1-2 years) and Diplomas (2-3 years);
  • University Transfer Programme (2 years)
  • Academic and applied degrees (3-4 years)
  • Post-graduate diplomas (1 year)

There is no national set of entrance exams for universities and college - instead, your prior academic records will be reviewed as part of the admission process. Hong Kong students may enter universities or colleges in Canada after the completion of HKDSE (Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education) Examination / GCE A Level (General Certificate of Education Advanced Level) / IB (International Baccalaureate®) Diploma Programme. Some colleges that offer foundation programmes may accept students of S5 (grade 11) standard.

International students must demonstrate proficiency in either English or French, depending on the college or university. This may involve writing tests such as the International English Language Testing System (IELTS), Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), Canadian Academic English Language Test (CAEL) or Test de francais international (TFI). Many institutions offer English or French as a Second Language programmes to international students who do not already have language proficiency.

(c) Elementary and Secondary Schools

There are public and private primary and secondary schools in Canada. Public schools usually do not provide boarding facilities. They are intended for local students but they also accept international students and provide a Homestay Programme with Canadian families. Many private schools provide residences. Some are sponsored by missionaries and many are keen on accepting international students.

In all provinces other than Quebec, students may seek admission to university after 12 years (Grade 1 to Grade 12) of primary and secondary schooling.

Admission to most secondary schools in Canada is based generally on the student’s academic performance in past 2 years and current year.

(d) Language Education

Elementary and secondary schools, colleges and universities offer English or French as a Second Language programmes that can shape students' accent and increase their vocabulary base to fit Canadian education needs and future professional life. In addition, there are private schools and colleges that are dedicated to the teaching of English and French, often exclusively to international students and new immigrants. They are funded through tuition fees.

Tuition fees and other expenses

Average full-time annual fees for International Students in Canada

(in C$)

Elementary/Secondary School

College

Universities

Tuition fees

$9,500-$17,000

$5,500-$18,000

$32,019

Living costs (including accommodation and food, insurance and books)

$9,000-$11,000
(Home stay)

$12,000

$12,000

Total costs

$18,500-$28,000

$17,500-30,000

$44,019

Notes: Fees will vary between institutions, specialised programme, housing options, personal spending and with variations between Canada.

Hong Kong / Canada Education Conversion Chart

Application Procedures

Students are advised to start applying for admission 9 months prior to the term's commencement date. Application forms may be obtained on the websites of the schools / colleges / universities or school district boards. For post-secondary level applications, some provinces allow you to complete one form online through an agency that submits your application to a number of institutions, such as OUAC in Ontario, Apply BC in British Columbia, and Apply Alberta in Alberta. Email applications are now widely accepted. Upon completing the application form, the applicant should return it together with the required supporting documents and application fees before the closing date. After the university, college, school / school board has evaluated the application, it will issue a provisional letter of acceptance to the eligible applicant. Formal letters of acceptance will usually be given upon receipt of tuition fees. Students who have been accepted are urged to proceed to the Canada Visa Application Centre immediately to apply for a student visa.

Visa Application Procedures

For information on how to apply for a Study Permit, please visit:

Enquiries

This webpage serves only as a general guide to studying in Canada. Further information is available at the official website:  EduCanada

For general enquiries, please contact:
Consulate General of Canada in Hong Kong and Macao 
9/F, Berkshire House, 25 Westland Road, Quarry Bay, Hong Kong 
Email : hkong@international.gc.ca
Website : http://www.hongkong.gc.ca/

Back to Top

跳到内容

生涯规划资讯网站 - 教育局

教育制度

从东岸至西岸,加拿大的13个省份及地区都有各自的初级、中级及高级教育体系,虽然各省的教育体系有些不同,但学习机会比比皆是。

(a) 大学

加拿大拥有超过100所公营和私营非牟利大学以及众多授予学位的学院,这些大学提供大量研究生和本科学位课程、职业证书、结业证书和毕业文凭课程,以及短期职业培训课程。大部分提供3种类型学位:学士、硕士及博士。修完3年或4年本科课程后,由各省授予学士学位。荣誉学位通常包含更深的学习内容和额外学分。

学生可以选择从社会科学、生物学和计算机技术到护理、媒体研究和农业的大量专业课程。学生还可以选择申请各种规模的大学,包括非常大型的研究院或规模较小的本科生院校。

(b) 专上学院

加拿大拥有超过135所社区学院及理工学院。这些公立学院均提供由省或地区政府批准的文凭证书。公立学院包括技术学院、社区学院、工艺专科学院、应用艺术和技术学院及魁北克省的通识教育和专业教育学院等。这些院校提供大量技术及职业教育课程,包括商业、农业及农业食品、健康、社会服务、广播和传理、科技、科学、信息技术、工程、环境、语言和艺术。修业时间由少于1年至4年不等。多种专业学历包括:

  • 证书(1至2年)及文凭(2至3年) 
  • 大学转学分课程(2年) 
  • 学术和应用学位(3至4年)课程 
  • 毕业文凭课程(1年) 

加拿大大学没有全国性入学考试,入学评审包括过往学业成绩评审。香港学生完成香港中学文凭(HKDSE)考试/普通教育高级程度证书 (GCE A Level) / 国际文凭大学预科课程 (IB Diploma Program),便可申请报考加拿大大学或专上院校。有部份院校接受具中五(第11班)程度的学生申请入读基础课程。

根据所申请的专上院校或大学的要求,国际留学生必需证明具备一定程度的法语或英语能力。这可能涉及笔试,例如雅思考试 (IELTS) ,托福考试 (TOEFL),楷尔考试 (CAEL) 或国际法语水平考试 (TFI)。许多院校均对尚未通晓法语或英语能力的留学生提供法语或英语作为第二语言的课程。

(c) 中小学

加拿大的中学及小学分公立和私立两种。公立学校一般不设寄宿,以本地学生为主,但亦取录海外学生,提供住宿家庭计划,安排入住加拿大人家庭。很多私校设有寄宿。有些由教会主办,而很多私校乐意招收海外学生。

除魁北克省外,其他省份由第1班 (Grade 1) 进修至第12班 (Grade 12) 后,便可申请进入大学。

加拿大的中学取录与否,主要决定于申请人的以往2年及最近1年的校内成绩。

(d) 语文教育

中小学校、专上院校和大学所提供的英语或法语作为第二语言课程可帮助同学纠正口音和增强词汇,以满足同学接受加拿大教育和未来职业生涯的需要。此外,还有专门教授英语和法语的私立学校和专上学院,通常针对国际留学生或新移民的需要。这些院校的主要经费来源依靠学费收入。

学费及其他杂费

在加拿大留学全年平均使费

(以加币计算) 中小学 专上院校 大学

学费

$9,500-$17,000

$5,500-$18,000

$32,019

生活费(包括住宿、膳食、保险、书簿费)

$9,000-$11,000
(寄宿家庭)

$12,000

$12,000

总计

$18,500-$28,000

$17,500-$30,000

$44,019

注意:费用会根据院校、课程类别、住宿选择和个人消费而不同,各省份亦有区别。

港加教育制度对比图

申请入学程序

申请人可于开课前9个月,去函校方的网址或教育局下载申请表格及有关资料。如大专入学申请,部份省份接受网上填写一份表格,然后经代理机构提交到一些大学,如安大略省OUAC、不列颠哥伦比亚省的Apply BC 及阿伯达省的Apply Alberta。而电邮递交表格亦广泛接受。在截止申请期限前填妥表格,连同所需文件及申请费用,寄回有关学校或教育部门。校方收到该等文件后,会进行查核及考虑,如决定取录,便寄出临时取录通知书。待申请人缴交学费后,始发正式的学校取录信。申请人接获学校取录信后,应即往加拿大驻香港领事馆申请学生签证。

申请学生签证程序

有关学生签证申请程序,请浏览加拿大驻香港总领事馆签证及移民部或加拿大签证申请中心网页:

查询

本网页只介绍赴加留学一般情况,如需详细资料,可浏览加拿大教育官方网页: EduCanada 

其他一般查询,请联络:

加拿大驻香港及澳门总领事馆
地址:鲗鱼涌华兰路25号柏克大厦9楼 
电邮:hkong@international.gc.ca
网址:http://www.hongkong.gc.ca/

返回页首