Skip to main content

Life Planning Information Website - Education Bureau

The Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area (Greater Bay Area) comprises the two Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macao, and the nine municipalities of Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Foshan, Huizhou, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Jiangmen and Zhaoqing in Guangdong Province. The total area is around 56 000 km2.  Based on the latest figures provided by the Guangdong Province, the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government (SARG) and the Macao SARG, the total population in the Greater Bay Area is over 86million and the GDP is over RMB 13 trillion in 2022.  The bay area refers to the port cluster and city cluster that are composed of the cities around the sea.  Each city in the bay area performs different functions so that the cities can generate synergy effects and promote economic development in the bay area.

Back to Top